Oct 14, 2021: We are unable to crawl the Disney site to maintain up-to-date availability. You will not receive any updates on your saved searches as a result. We have suspended ALL billing for PRO memberships. As has always been the case, anyone seeking a refund can send a message to support@dvcapp.com.

Reviews for Bay Lake Tower - View Other Resorts

Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower Bay Lake Tower
Bay Lake Tower is rated 4.5 out of 5 stars with 12 ratings.

Oct 19th, 2021: Review by Allison
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
WE LOVE BLT

Such a fun place to stay! We enjoyed our stay at the resort very much.

Being so close to MK and being able to jump on the monorail IN the hotel was awesome! It was my daughter's favorite part (outside of the parks anyway). Our standard room had a view of the park and the kids loved watching the fireworks from our room. We can't wait until our next stay at BLT!

Reactions:
0 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Sep 15th, 2021: Review by Carrie
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Our favorite resort!

This resort has it all.  Close to Magic Kingdom-Within walking distance.  Close to Chef Mickey's-Love that breakfast! On the monorail line-love it!  

We love the studios here as they have a little area in the kitchen to use as an extra getting ready area in the mornings.  

The lake views are great as some of them even give you a peek at the park!  

The rooms are very modern styling and clean. 

Can't wait to stay here again!

 

Reactions:
0 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Sep 9th, 2021: Review by Matt
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Wonderful DVC resort

We stayed in a 2 bedroom in May/June 2021 and loved every second of it! The room was large enough, although you can tell it's about time for a refresh. There are virtually no USB outlets in the room and the TVs in the bedrooms are quite old and small. There was some wear in the master bathroom as well, but none of these issues would deter me from staying again. There's nothing quite like seeing the Magic Kingdom and the Contemporary resort lit up at night through your living room windows while your family relaxes after a long day at the parks. 
Transportation was great. The most we waited for a bus was ten minutes, but most of the time we had little to no waits. Of course, being able to walk to MK is a special kind of awesome!
Dining options are plentiful, we ate at both Contempo Cafe and Chef Mickeys and both were excellent (for different reasons of course!). If you have small kids, you HAVE to do Chef Mickey's. Good food, and you get to see the fab five as close as you're going to in this post pandemic world. 
Overall, BLT is highly recommended!

Reactions:
0 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Sep 2nd, 2021: Review by Tawnya L (Updated Sep 2nd, 2021)
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
BLT Amazing resort.

We’re owners at The Bay Lake Towers, I and my family love it here when ever we come here for vacation we just don’t feel like leaving.. The location is just perfect, the beautiful experience of magic kingdom also makes it so colorful which is only a 10 mins walk, the pool is nice too. 

Oh Yes, the owner's lounge at the top is spectacular/ unique and very classy we love it. It’s actually a great place to watch fireworks, we’re always looking forward for that to come back. If you plan on visiting the Magic Kingdom frequently during your stay🤔…, then “Bay Lake Tower” is a great location for you. Enjoy the magic.. The Decor is modern and this goes very well with me, we prefer the standard rooms they usually have a lake or a theme park view because of the layout of the resort.

 

Games;

There is a Community Hall which has different activities such as video games, board games, DVD rentals, and many more, there are also shuffle board courts and Tennis courts available.

Reactions:
1 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Aug 30th, 2021: Review by Mandy
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Location, location, location

We recently stayed at Bay Lake Towers for 4 nights.  The number one thing about this resort Is it's proximity to the Magic Kingdom.  It was a quick 10 minute walk from our room to the park entrance.  We found our 1 bedroom lake view villa to be spacious, clean, and comfortable.  Having 2 bathrooms and a washer/dryer in the room was also wonderful.  While this resort doesn't offer the over the top theming of some other Disney resorts, the subtle hints of Disney was refreshing.  We found the staff to be helpful and friendly.  One thing that could be a negative to some is the lack of access to dining and drink refills in the building, but it is just a short walk to the main Contemporary building where these things are located.  There are also great dining options in the main building, with a good variety of options for everyone from small children to foodie adults.  We also found the lobby could be very crowded, especially during check in and check out times.  We would definitely stay here again and recommend it, especially for those looking to be close the Magic Kingdom.  

Reactions:
0 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

May 23rd, 2021: Review by Patrick
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐
Bay Lake.. could be so much better

The location of Bay Lake Tower is the only reason this resort is a deluxe resort. There is no theming in the resort whatsoever. It is super frustrating because this resort could be the feeling of Disney.. instead it's the step child of the monorail loop. 

It literally is a 10 minute walk to Magic Kingdom. Having its own security point is on the money as well. Coming back to the resort for a nap is so easy. To get to the monorail it's a quick walk to the Contemporary. All services for that resort are in the Contemporary. 

Overal this resort gets the job done. However, the lack of theming and small studio sizes are its downfall. 

Reactions:
2 👍
0 👎
1 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

May 17th, 2021: Review by Heidi
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Walking to the Magic is fantastic

We're owners here and love this resort. The location really can't be beat. We walked to Magic Kingdom almost every day of our trip. Tip - standard view rooms often have a lake or a theme park view because of the layout - so grab the standard room if you can! We did get a bit lost in the hotel each time out of the elevators - couldn't seem to remember to go left or right and if we took the other elevator, we definitely got turned around. However, amenities make up for the half circle resort layout. The pool is wonderful and having the owner's lounge at the top is spectacular. Definitely a great place to watch fireworks when those come back. If you plan on being mostly at Magic Kingdom, Bay Lake Tower is a great location. Enjoy the magic!

Reactions:
1 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Apr 24th, 2021: Review by Ryan (Updated Apr 24th, 2021)
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
A modern style hotel with a great location

Overview

Bay Lake Tower (BLT) is all about location!  It is the closest resort to the Magic Kingdom, so it is a relatively short 10 minute walk to the front gates of Magic Kingdom. There is also a dedicated temperature and security checkpoint, so the lines are generally shorter. Decor is modern, which is not for everyone. Some find it too cold and plain but I personally don't mind it. BLT has a deed expiration of 2060, which should work for most in terms of the length of life left on the contract. 

Amenities

BLT does not have its own restaurants or shopping, you need to go to The Contemporary for that but, there is a covered walking bridge on the 5th floor of BLT where you can walk to the Contemporary Resort for access to shopping, restaurants and the Monorail.  There is a bar at the pool called Cove Bar and there the Top of the World Lounge which is currently closed due to the pandemic, but when it re-opens offers drinks and some limited food items. Top of the World Lounge is accessible to any DVC Member currently staying at any Disney resort hotel.

Dining at the Contemporary includes the California Grill, a signature dining restaurant which can be expensive but very good food, the Wave which is a more reasonably priced sit down dining but also good food (try the Bacon and Eggs even if it isn't on the menu, you won't regret it!), Chef Mickey's which is a character dining meal with "all you care to eat" family style dining (or buffet style when that returns) and the Contempo Cafe which is quick service dining (and also where you go to refill your resort mugs) - breakfast is a good option there.  

Shopping in my opinion is very good, the gift shops in the Contemporary often have a good selection of different items.

The BLT pool is a great place to unwind, with a zero entry and very shallow depths on one side for little ones.  It also has a slide especially for young children that my kids really liked. There is also a bigger slide for older kids and adults with mickey decor.  There is also a splash pad area for children who enjoy that over the pool. The pool is nothing special and doesn't have any unique features like Storm Along Bay at Yacht and Beach Club but there's nothing to really complain about either. You also have access to the pools at the Contemporary Resort.

There is a Community Hall which has different activities, board games, video games, DVD rentals, etc

There are also shuffle board courts and Tennis courts available.

Transportation

Currently (April 2021) the Monorail is only running to Magic Kingdom, but eventually when the Epcot Monorail re-opens, you can take the Monorail from The Contemporary to the Transportation and Ticket Center (TTC) and then hop on the Monorail to Epcot. Because you're so close to Magic Kingdom, I would usually recommend walking there, if you take the Monorail to MK you have to go around the entire resort first and stop at the TTC, Poly and Grand Floridian before you stop at Magic Kingdom. From Magic Kingdom, the Contemporary Resort is the first stop on the Resort Monorail line though.

Disney Bus service is available at the Contemporary, and you can walk out the lobby on the first floor of BLT and over to The Contemporary to board the buses. Personally with the current physical distancing situation on the buses, I would rent a car and drive myself to the other parks as the bus lines can be long with the limited capacity.

Rooms

The room decor is modern similar to the rest of the hotel. There are 4 room types, studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedrooms and 3-bedroom Grand Villas. I have never stayed in a Grand Villa, but have stayed in a studio and 1-bedroom room types. The 2-bedroom lockoff room type is just a studio and 1-bedroom and you can open the connecting door between the rooms. There are also 3 view types, standard view, lake view and theme park view. The standard view rooms tend to be on the lower levels and don't usually have a good view because they are lower or they look at the parking lot. The lake view rooms generally have a view of Bay Lake or Seven Seas Lagoon and the Theme Park view rooms generally are higher and have a view of Magic Kingdom. Quantity wise there are more Lake View rooms than the other view types. To be honest for me, the standard view rooms are just fine if you can get them though, some of them even have a partial Theme Park view, even though it is not as good because it is on a lower level.

The studio is quite small compared to other DVC studios at ~340 sq. ft. and because of the galley style kitchenette area (it only has a microwave and mini-fridge) it feels even smaller. However the room is still totally usable and if you're there for the location close to Magic Kingdom - there is nothing wrong with it. But if you plan to spend a lot of time in the room and have 4 people, you may want to consider the 1 bedroom.  

The 1 bedrooms in BLT are actually larger than average at ~800 sq. ft. and they feel huge!  The 1-bedroom has 2 full bathrooms which is really nice, and a fairly large living area. Like all 1-bedrooms it also has a full kitchen and a stackable washer/dryer. The point cost is much higher but the 1-bedroom is really worth it at BLT when you consider the studio is undersized.

Again a 2-bedroom lockoff would be the combination of a studio and a 1-bedroom. A dedicated 2-bedroom would be similar in size but has 2 full queen beds in the 2nd bedroom instead of a queen bed and a sleeper sofa.

Reactions:
2 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Apr 23rd, 2021: Review by Diane
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Love the larger rooms, studios are tiny!

You can't beat the location of Bay Lake Tower. A quick skybridge walk from the Contemporary, but a quiet retreat compared to the noise of Chef Mickey! We loved walking to Magic Kingdom and watching fireworks in their pajamas when our kids were small. While we love the subtle theming, I would not choose a studio for more than 2 people. They are small, and feel particularly small with the layout. One bedrooms and two bedrooms are AMAZING!

Reactions:
1 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Apr 21st, 2021: Review by Christine
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Spacious and airy

I know some people will complain about the lack of theming but I found it refreshing and relaxing. The room was larger than I'd expected and we had a lovely view of the lake. It was very relaxing to see the boats out in the morning. Perfect size for two for the first few nights of a split stay. We booked holiday party tickets and our MK and Epcot days for our stay and it was so convenient for MK. I didn't appreciate taking the monorail to Epcot and that being our ONLY mode of Disney transportation. We waited while 5 trains went to MK for a TTC one and were so late to our dining reservation. Of course the restaurant was so kind but I was stressed out.

Reactions:
1 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Apr 17th, 2021: Review by Laura
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Location!

We love staying here. It's so convenient for going to Magic Kingdom by either the monorail or walking. Another plus is going through a seperate security with only those from the hotel so no wait. Cast members are great and you can't beat the theme park view! We will stay her again in anytime it's available!

Reactions:
1 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸

Apr 17th, 2021: Review by Isabella (Updated Apr 20th, 2021)
Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Amazing Location, Building Feels Big and Generic

Nothing beats the short walk from Bay Lake Tower to Magic Kingdom (especially after the fireworks rush at night) and the easy access to the Top of the World Lounge. But the resort itself feels big and generic, and you have to walk over to the Contemporary for quick service food.

PROS

  • Walking distance to Magic Kingdom
  • 1-BR and 2-BR have an extra bathroom relative to most other DVC villas
  • Easy access to the Top of the World Lounge (with a nice view of the fireworks, especially the holiday party fireworks!)
  • Walking distance to the restaurants at the Contemporary (The Wave, California Grill, and Chef Mickey's character breakfast)
  • Zero entry pool and splash area for the kids
  • Grilling area that overlooks Bay Lake
  • Has a Community Hall with games, crafts, DVDs, and other activities
  • Monorail access to other food options at the Polynesian and Grand Floridian

CONS

  • Have to walk to the Contemporary for quick service food 
  • The building is large and feels generic 
  • Studio villas are small 
  • Shares buses with the Contemporary (and sometimes Wilderness Lodge)
Reactions:
2 👍
0 👎
0 😂
0 😍
0 😎
0 😡
0 🤢
0 💸